Kitty Cat

About a couple years ago, we decided it was time to look for another cat.  We lost one to cancer, and there was a void that needed to be filled…a low-maintenance void.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love puppy dogs, but they’re absolutely miserable if you leave them alone to go on business trips.  Most cats don’t really care, as long as you leave enough food and water for them.

Word got out around the neighborhood that we were looking for a cat.  So one of the neighbors called one day.

“I’ve got a little kitty cat here, if you’d like her,” she said.  “She just wandered into our yard, and is as sweet as can be, but I can’t keep her.  Would you like to see her?”

I was hesitant, because I didn’t want to get a mean-tempered cat, like our previous one.  The old cat would do things like hide under the bed and wait till I was folding laundry, then suddenly attack, lashing out her long claws, burying them into the flesh of my ankles…drawing blood, and leaving scars.  Nice cat, eh?

But I figured, What the heck.  I’ll check out this stray cat.

I went over to meet the neighbor and met all her cats.  Then she took me out to her back yard.

“She usually stays in this shed,” she said.  “All I have to do is say, ‘Here, Kitty!’”

We walked to a little backyard shed, peeked inside, and she called, “Here, Kitty!”

Let me tell you, I was skeptical.  I didn’t know if a gentle feline companion could be found like this.  I waited in the dim sunset glow of the evening, peering into the shed to see if I would encounter this little kitty.

There she was, all black, and I wondered if this could possibly be our future companion.  She looked up at me, and stared right into my eyes with her big, wide eyes.

“Oh,” I sighed.  It was love at first sight.

I took her home and put out some dry cat food for her.  Our neighbor said she only fed her scraps, so she wasn’t used to having food sitting out for her…just waiting for her to eat it.  She ate and ate, walked away, and then came back, seemingly amazed that the food was still there.

We let her in and out, to come and go as she pleased, always to find food and water when she came inside.  We could tell by her shows of affection how grateful she was.

We’ve had her for quite a while now, and I do believe she’s forgotten her former life…and how much she should be thankful for.

She has us trained well.  When she wants out, she sits patiently by the door until we notice, and we let her out.  When she wants in, she’ll lurk outside the front door until someone comes home, so she can zip inside.  If she misses that “window of opportunity,” she’ll walk around the outside of the house, upstairs and downstairs, looking for someone to let her in.  When she spots someone, she’ll start her frenzied scratching on the glass…her way of saying, “Let me in!”  Of course, we swiftly comply.  She has us trained well.

She’s also got a boyfriend now, the neighbor’s white cat.  There’s actually a love triangle going on.  When our kitty cat gets in a tiff with the boyfriend, he simply trots two doors down to call on Sweetie, the other neighbor’s cat.  It’s quite a saga to watch.

My husband and I were pulling into the driveway the other night when we saw the white cat trotting down our neighbor’s driveway.

“Oh,” I said.  “Our kitty must be on the outs.  He’s going to call on Sweetie.”

We came home to find a thankful kitty…not a care in the world about the boyfriend…who still looks up and makes direct, heart-melting eye-contact.  I don’t know if she always realizes how good she’s got it, but she sure knows how to melt our hearts…just one look, with those big, inquisitive, kitty cat eyes.

3 Responses to “Kitty Cat”

  1. Robyn Says:

    I love kitty-cats….but love my dog more who (BTW – has us trained well too) loves to sleep and cuddle at our beck and call. Never found a cat to do that!

  2. Tom Says:

    Sweetie and Streak seem to be to the point of tolerating each other (no more squalling, screaming, etc.) They just lay on the porch and snooze.

Leave a Reply

