The Unnecessary Stress We Put Ourselves Through

A few days ago, I had a friend over to the house for the first time.  We happen to live on a lake, and she commented on how nice it would be to have the volunteers in her organization over for a picnic.

Without thinking, I said, “Sure!  Let’s do it!”  I was thinking 30 people, tops.

After she left, I started thinking over the logistics.  She had given me a list of about 60 people in the organization, saying only half the people usually show up anyway.

Hmmm.  Who would want to go to a picnic alone?  We need to invite each person and a guest.

I called my friend.  “Do many of these people have young children?”

“Oh, yes,” she said.

The numbers multiplied in my head.  Visions of setting up a picnic for 150 people in our small yard raced through my head.  A tent.  Chairs.  And a small septic system.  I almost started hyperventilating.

I remembered the last time we had a big group of people at our home, just a little over 30.  Our septic system couldn’t handle it.  As people were leaving, I cringed with embarrassment as they sloshed through water on the sidewalk.  Our front yard was flooded, from overtaxing a septic system surrounded by towering trees…and a massive snarl of clogging roots.

I worked myself into a frenzied, wound-up ball of stress.  I got myself into a pickle, and I had to get myself out.

I thought about a park across the lake…perhaps a solution.  I drove over, looked it over, and took pictures.

I went back home and designed an invitation flyer, with beautiful photos of the park.  I sent it to my friend, with a list of all the reasons why having the event at our home would be a bad idea, and how much better it would be to have it at the park.

My stress began to ease a bit.  Perhaps this could be the solution to getting myself out of a pickle!

I spoke with my friend the next day.  She realized she had too much going on to organize another event.  We decided to save it for another day.  At the park, that is.

Halleluiah!  All things do work together for good…

Don’t get me wrong, we do love having people over.  But I’ll love it a heck of a lot more when our county decides to hook us up, and to put an end to this septic system…and all the unnecessary stress I put myself through over it!

And perhaps next time I’ll have the presence of mind to think things through, before putting myself through unnecessary, hyperventilating stress!

2 Responses to “The Unnecessary Stress We Put Ourselves Through”

  1. Robyn Says:

    Well…that sounds like a crappy day!

  2. Tony Says:

    Now, that’s funny. You went through a whole tragic like Shakespeare play in just a few paragraphs 🙂

Leave a Reply

