Dizzy Kitty

Yesterday morning began like any other normal day.  My husband got up first to leave for the gym.  He let the cat out, who hesitated at the door, as usual, then hopped out onto the front porch. 

One hour later, I was summoned to the front door by pleading, moaning calls from my daughter, who was leaving for work. 

“Mom!  Come here!  Look at the cat!” 

I ran downstairs and out the front door.  Our 2-year-old kitty was crouching on the sidewalk, unable to move, head tilted to one side, drooling, with her eyes darting back and forth. 

“What’s wrong with her?” whined my daughter. 

Am I the Answer Mom?  How the heck should I know? 

“Mom, we’ve got to call the vet!” 

I couldn’t react fast enough to my daughter’s pleas.  I managed to call the animal hospital, but they weren’t open yet. 

“Mom, we can’t let her die!” 

She’s not too dramatic, is she? 

I had to do something, before I was destined to leave a legacy of killing the cat.  I gingerly loaded her into the carrier and headed over to the animal hospital.  A pickup truck pulled into the parking lot right behind me, but it was another client, and we both had to wait for the staff to arrive.  His poor dog was in the back of the truck, head shaved and swollen, his eyes half shut.

“Was he in an accident?” I asked. 

“No.  He got bit by a snake,” said the young man.  “They can’t do nothing.  I looked it up on the Internet, and I just need to keep it clean.  But I wanted to see if they could tell me anything more here.” 

I told him about my poor little kitty, and we waited, sympathizing over each other’s pets. 

The door finally opened, and a young lady ushered us in.  She told me the doctor wasn’t in yet, but had an opening a little later.  As I left, the dog owner, who didn’t bring his dog in, said he just had a question about his dog.

I would later realize how smart he was, avoiding extravagant veterinarian costs. 

After bringing my sick kitty in and leaving her there a couple hours for tests, the vet called me. 

“I have good news and bad news,” she said.

Not a good opener, I thought. 

“The good news is that the blood work didn’t show anything wrong, and you can come and pick up your cat.  The bad news is that I don’t know what’s wrong with her.” 

She charged me close to $300 for that little tidbit of information. 

Today I woke up thinking, Man, that is not acceptable.  I need a second opinion! 

My daughter’s morning calls beckoned me downstairs quickly. 

“She’s in the kitty litter!  My friend said that’s where they go just before they die!” 

“Maybe she just has to go to the bathroom,” I said. 

More drama, and I soon realized that if I didn’t do something quickly, and the cat died, I would be blamed for eternity. 

I called a friend who had a lot of experience with pets and grooming animals, and asked her for a vet recommendation.  I looked him up online and found glowing reviews.  I called and set up an appointment, and had them call the animal hospital for all the blood work and tests I had already paid for.  

I swear, I think I’ve spent more on pets’ medical care than on our children’s over the years…probably because I never studied pet health as much as I did children’s health. 

On the way to the clinic, I called a dear friend and asked her to pray for our kitty…with a little twinge of guilt, thinking it might be a little arrogant to ask Almighty God to heal our cat.  

I didn’t voice these thoughts to her, but she immediately started saying how she had just read in the Bible how God is the God of all flesh, and how the Psalms say, “Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.”  She told me that God created domestic animals for a purpose…for companionship, and how she had just read about a local hospital that had a dog come in regularly to provide therapy for the patients. 

“How godly is that?” she asked. 

She brought tears to my eyes.  Yes, God even cares about my little kitty.  She prayed, and I felt so much better.  I knew that everything was going to work out somehow. 

The new doctor quickly recognized my kitty’s problem.  It’s Feline Vestibular Syndrome.  There are lots of theories about what causes it, but no one knows for sure.  He printed up an article about it for me.  I asked him how to administer the medications the other vet gave me, and he took the time to show me.

Wrap the kitty in a towel, so you don’t get clawed.  Big help. 

Kitty finally ate a little after I brought her home.  She seemed a little stronger, but she still falls over on her side when she tries to walk.  Her balance is all messed up, and I’m sure it’s terribly frustrating for her.  We’re keeping her in a small bedroom, with few things tall to climb, food and water, and kitty litter handy. 

Poor, dizzy kitty. 

Good doctor. 

Kind, gracious God.

2 Responses to “Dizzy Kitty”

  1. christine Says:

    same thing is happening to callie blood work is fine toxoplasmia negative and i feel very stongly this is what she has should i see a neuroligist for he many thanks

    • judyransom Says:

      Hi, Christine. We just took her to the vet. He said there wasn’t much he could do, but just to keep her inside where she couldn’t climb, until she regained her balance. Some medication was prescribed, but I don’t remember what it was. I hope your callie recovers soon!

Leave a Reply

