Jalapeño Burn Cure?

I have a garden in Florida, and if there’s anything we can grow in Florida, it’s jalapeño peppers. 

I planted nine little jalapeño plants, thinking we might get a few good hot peppers this year.  Hooo-eee…we had a bumper crop, and it’s still “bumpering.” 

I have had my share of chopping and slicing those plump, little green demons this summer, and then forgetting to wash my hands…before wiping my nose or eye.  Yeeow!!! 

I’ve been watching my garden for days lately, and knew it was inevitable.  I had to do something with all those jalapeños.  I couldn’t stand it any longer.  So today I marched out to the garden and harvested two very large bowls of rather ripe green, red, and brown peppers.  (I don’t know why they’re so many different colors now, but it’s pretty cool.) 

I cleaned the jars, prepared the brine, boiled the water, and sliced those babies…wearing gloves from the moment I picked them.  My hands started feeling real hot—even through the gloves—so I put on double gloves.  

No matter.  My hands still burned.  They were on FIRE.  I kept slicing and pickling, and ran out of canning jars before I ran out of jalapeños.  

What am I going to do with all these jalapeños?! 

I started calling the neighbors.  I couldn’t give them away! 

“Honey,” I told my hubby, “guess what we’re having for dinner tonight?” 

I de-stemmed and cored a multitude of the hellaciously hot fireballs, shredded and mixed cream cheese, cheddar and mozzarella, and stuffed away.  My hands were on fire the entire time…even through double gloves. 

How am I going to sleep tonight, with burning hands? 

Stuffing all those peppers was quite a project.  We didn’t want to go through all the labor of grilling them, so I tried to stand them up in a baking dish. 

This isn’t going to work! 

Steve (my hubby) dug out all of our barbecue skewers.  I pierced those babies by the dozens, placed the skewers across the baking dish, and popped them in the oven.  The online recipe promised that after 45 minutes at 350 degrees, the peppers would be mellowed out. 

Not these babies!  They were hot, hot, hot, and we cried, cried, cried as we tried to eat them. 

We decided to freeze the excess stuffed peppers, in hopes it would take the bite off…for future snacks or appetizers. 

But I came upon the strangest realization.  After enduring hours of burning hands, and then suffering through a peppery hot dinner, I realized my hands were no longer on fire. 

Strange.  Could it possibly be that eating hot peppers is the cure for the pain they inflict to the skin? 

I don’t know how else to explain it.  I was in fiery pain for hours, but after eating those blazingly hot jalapeños, I have no pain in my hands at all. 

Hmmm…has anyone else experienced this possible cure?  If so, please leave a comment.  Meanwhile, I’m going out to shop for some heavy-duty gloves.

2 Responses to “Jalapeño Burn Cure?”

  1. Retta Says:

    Hey Judy. I read that freezing peppers makes them hotter :). I think they said if you leave the membranes intact and the seeds in, they heat up with freezing. We just went to Hatch, NM to get some peppers for roasting. Happy crying!

Leave a Reply

