All That Racket

A friend and I were talking about this phase of life called “the fifties.”  Our husbands seem to have survived our hot flashes, mood swings, and everything else we’ve put them through. 

“Yeah,” I said, “Now I need to figure out what I’m going to be when I grow up.” 

“I know what you mean,” said my friend.  “We also need to spend more time getting to know our husbands.” 

“Our who?” 

“The ones we rushed around with for so many years while investing so much of our lives in our kids.  It’s time to set some new goals together.” 

“Yeah, like how to spend our kids’ inheritance.” 

The hubby and I are going through kid withdrawal.  He signed up as a Big Brother, and now has a little guy to play with again.  As for myself, I can’t wait to play with grandkids.  None of our children are in any great rush to get married, though.  Good for them … they should take their time in making such a big decision. 

So during these “in between” years – between kids and grandkids – I find myself looking at old photos and remembering when our children were little.  Our oldest son was watching home videos with me a while back.  He stared in amazement as his younger self babbled on and on while climbing a dangling rope, with his younger brother yelling, laughing, and wildly jerking too high on the wooden swing, and his little sister rocking furiously on the spring horse, stretching the squeaky springs to the max. 

“How did you do that?” he asked. 

“Do what?” 

“Put up with all that racket?” 

“Oh, you get used to it.  And I kind of miss all the racket.” 

“We were wild.” 

“Never a dull moment.” 

We never knew where the next laugh would come from.  I remember one day when our boys, then four and two years old, were seated at the kitchen counter.  The four-year-old felt it was his duty to spout out every new bit of knowledge he had gained. 

“Did you know that animals don’t really have hair?” he asked.  “When the hair is all over their body, it’s really called fur.” 

The two-year-old didn’t miss a beat.  He smiled and said, “Oh!  Then Daddy has fur!” 

Moments like that are priceless.  I miss those days, but I know wondrous days still lie ahead.

Leave a Reply

