Smitten

I’ve been smitten with puppy love.  She’s a six-pound, furry ball of energy, my little black shadow.  If I need to leave her at home, I can’t stop thinking about her.

How is she doing?  Is she barking and howling, or did she cry herself to sleep?  Does she have to go to the bathroom?  Oh, I really don’t need to make this third stop …

It’s impossible to get upset with her, no matter what she does.  She thinks it’s a game when she grabs one of my slippers or shoes … probably because I play the game of running around the house after her to retrieve the heisted item.  And when she leaves a little brown deposit behind a piece of furniture, I just get a paper towel and pick it up.

My bad, I forgot to take her out.

We’ve learned in Puppy Training that dogs have no sense of past or future.  They live in the present moment.  If you scold a dog or whack him for some naughty little thing he did, he has no idea why you’re upset.  You may think he knows what he did wrong by the way he cowers at your disapproval.  But he’s only upset because for some unknown reason you’re mad at him.  All he wants is for you to be happy again!

If our grown kids saw the patience I exercise with this little pup, they’d groan with envy, scratching their heads, Is this the same lady who raised us?

By the time you acquire some patience and wisdom, you’re kids are out on their own, ready to take on the world and make mistakes of their own.  You hope they’ll ask for some of your elderly wisdom once in a while.  You buy a little pillow-cushion attached to the end of a paint stick at a craft bizarre which says, “Grandma’s Paddle,” hang it on the wall, and wait for the grandkids to arrive.  You may no longer have all the energy you had in your twenties, but I guess that’s the trade-off.  You’re now patient and smart enough to raise kids, but you don’t have the stamina to survive all the sleepless nights.  Ah, the irony of it all.

Oops, gotta run.  The pup is chewing on my plant … time to trim the bottom leaves.

She’s too cute … and I’m smitten for sure.

 

2 Responses to “Smitten”

  1. slowdancejournal Says:

    Ah yes, another dog person! Despite the fact a neighbor’s dog bit me on the arm two days ago I still love them (my bad, I got near his house).

    The new pup will keep you happy until the grandkids come (and they are truly wonderful).

Leave a Reply

