Two Gold Nuggets

I recently found a couple of gold nuggets in Noah St. John’s The Secret Code of Success.  The first is the concept of “afformations” (not “affirmations”), and the second is that of “loving mirrors.”  Here’s my take on the gold I found, mixed in with my thoughts about the author’s work and related concepts.

Most of us have heard about affirmations, where we tell ourselves things like, “I’m rich!” “I’m skinny!” and “I’m popular!”  Meanwhile, our mind is really telling us, “You’re a liar!”

Afformations, according to the author, are based on the premise that your subconscious mind is always working on solutions to the questions you ask yourself throughout each day.

So if you keep asking yourself – “Why am I always broke?” “Why can’t I lose weight?” “Why don’t people like me?” – your subconscious mind will go to work on finding answers to those negative questions.  Hence, the phenomenon of self-fulfilled prophecies, otherwise known as self-sabotage, or shooting yourself in the foot.  Unfortunately, most of us are wired to ask ourselves these negative questions.

What we instead need to do, according to St. John, is to give our subconscious mind positive solutions to work on.  “Why am I perfectly capable of making a great living … losing weight … making great friends?”  As our subconscious mind goes to work on the solutions to these questions, we’ll begin to manifest the positive results in our lives.

I’m sure there’s a lot more to it than simply asking ourselves positive questions, but I think it’s a good start.  I’ve observed too many people with negative mindsets over the years, and it seems they bring a lot of problems upon themselves.  I don’t believe every bad thing which happens to us is a result of our thoughts … sometimes crap just happens.  But for the most part, negative people tend to bring to pass a lot of self-sabotage and negative self-fulfilling prophecies upon themselves.  Conversely, positive people tend to attract a lot of good things in their lives.  I’m reminded of a few scriptures …

“Keep your heart with all diligence, For out of it spring the issues of life.” (Proverbs 4:23 NKJV)

“A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good things, and an evil man out of the evil treasure brings forth evil things.” (Matthew 12:35 NKJV)

“For as he thinks in his heart, so is he…” (Proverbs 23:7 NKJV)

Although I believed in my younger days that positive thinking would always bring positive results – I now realize a positive mindset (mostly an attitude of gratitude, and a determination to find solutions) will help you weather life’s storms a heck of a lot better than drowning in a sea of negative thinking (criticizing, condemning, complaining, fears, etc.).  Yes, a positive attitude yields a lot of positive results, but it’s never an immunization against setbacks and hardships.  We all go through them, but how we react to them determines how we come out on the other side every time!  The mindset we build moment-by-moment, day-by-day … whether positive or negative … will ultimately build or destroy the only thing which defines ourselves – our character.

But I digress.  Back to the book …

The second gold nugget I found in this book was something the author calls “loving mirrors.”  These are people who encourage and support you, through thick and thin.  I remember observing this attribute in people’s lives as far back as my school days.  There was something about the popular and successful students … a confidence which seemed to be in-born.  It was obvious to me they had a loving support system … a family who loved and supported them unconditionally.

The Secret Code of Success talks about building a support system of “loving mirrors,” even if some of them are long-distance relationships through e-mail or over the telephone.  However, I don’t believe the book went into much detail about how to build such a support system.

The rest of the book was filled with a myriad of 1-2-3 steps … enough to drive you mad.  But the few golden nuggets you may find in this book make it definitely worth the read!

Why do so many people read my blog?  Why do they so often leave comments?   🙂

3 Responses to “Two Gold Nuggets”

  1. slowdancejournal Says:

    I find that the older I get the more grateful I feel for my life–the good and the bad. It’s a package deal. Life, in total, is an incredible gift. My limited life span only makes me hold my life more dear.

    Thanks for the reminder Judy!

    Adrian Fogelin

  2. Robyn Says:

    I see you must have gotten the book after listening to the CD’s I gave you on Noah’s Afformations? I’m still listening to him in my car! Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

