What A Mom – And Oh, How I Miss Her!

While going through some papers today, I came across something I wrote several years ago – in the wee hours of the morning on the day of my Mom’s funeral.  Since we just celebrated Mother’s Day, I thought it would be appropriate to share.

A Tribute to Loretta, read by my youngest brother, Rick, at Mom’s service on May 25, 2000, where we celebrated her life and memory, as well as the surety of her salvation in Christ.

At the beginning of the service we placed a worn and tattered, very used, black book on top of the casket.  That was Mom’s Bible.  She believed the Bible was the inspired Word of God, and she sought His wisdom and guidance daily in the scriptures.

Mom’s deep love for God, and her joy in personally knowing the Lord Jesus Christ, was always reflected in her smile.  And who could forget that smile?  Mom loved to laugh, and her warmhearted spirit always immediately put people at ease.  She had a way of spontaneously welcoming people into her heart, and making them feel at home there.  The scriptures say in Nehemiah 8:10, “The joy of the Lord is your strength,” and truly, the joy of the Lord was Mom’s strength.

Proverbs 13:4 says, “The soul of the sluggard desires, and has nothing: but the soul of the diligent shall be made fat.”  Mom may have been of tiny stature, but she was a giant in the soul category.  She never had to tell us kids to be diligent; she just showed us how to be diligent, in her actions every day.  We’ll never know how much sleep she lost, tending to crying, hungry babies, sick children, or cleaning up messes in the night.  But every morning, she was there for us, with a hot breakfast, making all our lunches, and getting us off to school – on time!  If she was ever sick, we never knew it.  Her diligence to take care of us never failed, no matter how she felt.

Romans 15:1 declares, “We then that are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak, and not to please ourselves.”  By her appearance, you might not think Mom was very strong, but she was one tough cookie, always rising to the occasion in any crisis.  Her inner strength and desire to help others are probably what motivated her to become a registered nurse.  And I’m sure that her nursing career prepared her for all the challenges of raising nine boys … and one tomboy.  I can’t begin to tell you of all the horrific cuts, scrapes, bruises, and injuries our rowdy bunch sustained while growing up.  No matter how gory or frightening our mishaps were, Mom always tackled the situation with a calm that would immediately put us at ease.  She’d just patch us up, and send us on our way.  Mom was strong – she bore our infirmities when we were “weak,” in selfless service.

Romans 5:17 was branded all over Mom’s life:  “Pray without ceasing.”  Her life was one of constant prayer and trust in God.  On any given day, all of us kids would be scattered in every direction throughout the county.  Mom had no idea where we were, except that we were in God’s watchful love and care.  Her prayers would keep us there each day.  And every evening, her prayers would bring us back home to the dinner table, safe and sound.

Even during my turbulent years as a teenager, Mom knew exactly how to handle it – with prayer.  She and Dad went to the Marian Shrine every weekend to pray for my salvation.  To this day, I’m convinced it was the persistent, faithful prayers of my Mom which turned my heart toward God.  In the spiritual battle, Mom fought on the front lines – through prayer.  I guess we won’t know till we’re in paradise, how many lives were turned around for God through Mom’s prayers.

And who could forget Mom’s love for music, and how she freely shared it with us all?  “Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all the earth: make a loud noise, and rejoice, and sing praise.  Sing unto the Lord with the harp, with the harp, and the voice of a psalm.  With trumpets and sound of cornet make a joyful noise before the Lord, the King” (Psalm 98:4-6).  I’m sure those verses include the organ.  Mom played the violin as a girl, and loved to play the piano – for us, and for the various clubs she was involved with.  But music took on a new meaning and passion in Mom’s heart when she started playing the organ at the daily Masses here at St. Margaret’s, so many years ago.  Although hundreds of parishioners enjoyed her playing throughout the years, Mom played for an audience of one – the Lord Jesus Christ.

In her illness these past few months, Mom’s only desire to recover was so that she could once again play for her Lord.  When Christ comes back to establish His kingdom upon earth, He’s going to need musicians, just as was required for the temple in the Old Testament.  And I happen to know of one organist who will once again play for her Lord!

Good-bye, Mom.  We’ll miss you.  And we’ll be looking forward to seeing your smile and hearing you play again in Christ’s kingdom!

6 Responses to “What A Mom – And Oh, How I Miss Her!”

  1. Diane Cox Says:

    What a wonderful tribute to your mom Judy. She sounds almost as amazing as you!

    • judyransom Says:

      Thanks, Diane. That’s very kind of you. Truth be told, I don’t hold a candle to my Mom’s talents, strength, patience, etc. She was amazing times 10! But since you didn’t know her, a big Thank You for the compliment!

  2. slowdancejournal Says:

    Judy, you have her smile exactly!

    I too have a mother I miss very much. That is the only downside to having exceptional parents. When they are gone they leave such a hole in your heart!

    Adrian

  3. Kathy Behm Says:

    Judy thanks for sharing about your mother. It was an amazing tribute and one that brings conviction to my heart. I have always summarized my relationship to my mother by the the cruel things she said to me but in truth there were many amazing tributes I would do well to focus on. Our home was always spotlessly clean and I never remember my mother take a nap through the day her energy was endless. My Father was in the military and was away for a couple of years at a time leaving my mother to tend to 3 young children, in a foreign country and a language barrier, she was Japanese. She is 81y.o. and I need to spend more time with her.

    • judyransom Says:

      Thanks for sharing that, Kathy. Family relationships are a mixed bag of nuts, aren’t they? Someone once told me that we grow and mature either because of … or in spite of … our parents. I never appreciated my mother until I was about 30, after I started having children of my own. She shared with me in those later years how it had been so late in life when she really came into a relationship with the Lord Jesus. She had many regrets over the negative aspects of our upbringing, but I treasure our friendship in her latter years. That said, it is neither good nor healthy to retain ongoing abusive relationships. Walk in wisdom, dear friend.

Leave a Reply

