Zumba Girl

Amanda Golden, Zumba Instructor & R.N., and Me

“You need to do something fun for exercise,” my doctor said, as she sat squarely across from me.

“But I don’t know what ‘fun’ is,” I said.

“How ‘bout you try Zumba?”

Thus began my entrance into the world of Zumba. 

I walked into the gym, and started chatting with someone nearby.

“Is this going to kill me?” I asked.

“I just focus on the feet,” she said. “Don’t worry about the arms.”

Good advice, I thought.

Amanda, the teacher and coach, exuberantly marched up to the stage platform.

“I just had some surgery on my arm, and don’t have full movement yet,” she said, “so just follow along, even if I can’t do everything.”

Holy cow … she just had surgery, and she’s doing ZUMBA?

The music started pounding, and I stepped, arms flailing, trying to see what the heck she was doing, so I could follow along.

Dang, I need to come early, so I can get a spot up front … and see what the heck she’s doing!

That was a few months ago, and now … I’m a Zumba girl!  No, I don’t get all the moves perfectly, and some of them I flat-out can’t do – because my brain hasn’t figured them out yet – but it’s so much FUN!  I even recruited my friend, Chandra, and now we’re both die-hard Zumba girls!

A couple nights ago, we arrived on time, unaware of the class’ apparent decision to do toning … with weights!  Chandra and I didn’t have the Zumba “sticks,” but we had fun anyway!  People were whooping and hollering … what a workout!  What a rush!

Next workout, I still didn’t have my sticks, so I grabbed some weights and jumped right in.  Whoooh!  What fun!

The music Amanda chooses, and the energy she brings to the stage and class is absolutely amazing.

Can anything be more fun?

The body fat’s dropping, the muscles are growing, and my energy level is astounding. 

Yes, Doctor, I now know what “fun” is!  I found it on a Zumba wave with Amanda … and there’s no turning back now!

6 Responses to “Zumba Girl”

  1. Amanda Golden Says:

    I am so glad you found something you love to do! 🙂

  2. Robyn Says:

    Can it be done with two left feet? If yes, then I’m in. If no, then I’m still in!

    • judyransom Says:

      Yes! The whole point is to just have fun! I think Zumba instructors purposely keep changing their moves, to keep it high energy, FUN, and so everyone is too busy looking at the instructor to be looking at anybody else!

  3. slowdancejournal Says:

    I walk for exercise, and do ridiculous stretches to prevent premature rigor mortis, but, dang, you sound like you’re having fun!

    • judyransom Says:

      Yes, Adrian – I love to dance, and the instructors are trained in working muscle groups. All I have to do is show up and do what I love to do! (My modified version, anyway, honoring my body … and accepting my occasional lack of coordination!)

Leave a Reply

